Fenix "Side Switch in the Head" User Interface - Good or Bad?

ynotCCW

Newly Enlightened
So what do the knowledgeable flashaholics on CPF think about the Fenix "Side Switch in the Head" User Interface? I've been using a PD30 R5 (no side switch) for a couple of years and have grown so used to that interface I'm having trouble adjusting the a new PD32 T6 that I just bought with a side switch.

Here are my initial concerns with the side switch:

1- After you use your thumb to turn the light on via the tailcap, it is difficult to find the side switch. You also have to reposition your grip on the light to operate the side switch; meaning that you grip the light from the end in a tactical manner to turn the light on then have to grip the barrel and feel for the side switch to change light levels. Then you have to change back to the tactical grip to turn the light back off. This seems like a lot of unnecessary handling to me.
2- It is difficult to know what light level you are on, you have to cycle through and try to count up to the desired level. So I cycle through until I find the lowest output then click 2-4 times to get the light level I want.
3- If you turn the light off with the light level at a high setting, then want to start the light in a lower setting (to preserve night vision), you can't! You can only adjust the light level with the light ON. I carry my lights on HIGH just in case I need to use it in a defensive situation, but usually need the light to read papers or find something in the cab, if the light comes on full brightness, by the time I adjust it down, my night vision is destroyed.

I heard other reviewers rave about the PD32 T6 Ultimate but I'm not that happy so far... What do the truly knowledgable users think about these issues?

Any recommendations on single 18650 (AW 3.6v 3400MaH) light with a better interface?

Bullzeyebill

Flashaholic