Moving to Indonesian Wilderness- what to buy?

elm29

Newly Enlightened
Hi All,
Newbie here and already addicted but need some practical advice. I am relocating to Indonesia, in a mining town and need to equip myself with a set of lights.

So, my question- given the following circumstances, what would you go for:
1. Got a budget of about US$200- but with a bit of flex
2. Electricity is stable but could go out on occassions. If so it could go out for an extended period.
3. There is a very small potential for some sort of tactical situation to develop (ie security issues)
4. Preference is for all lights to use the same type of batteries (may be difficult to get batteries so was planning to bring in a couple of boxes. If they are all the same it is less complicated)
5. There will be no local dealer so they need to be pretty rugged and reliable. Talking about a 3yr contract
6. Indonesia is hot and humid (not sure if that affects anything)

So what would you purchase?

Thanks
Matt

Ropes4u

Newly Enlightened
I recommend you take me and I will brinf the lights - I love Indonesia!! If it were me I would take a Surefire E2E and any surefire rechargable you can afford.

If I were seriously thinking tactical I would bring a weapon light and the gun to place it on. I love the USP 40 that sits on my hip most of the time /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif

Ropes

d'mo

Enlightened
My wife lives in the very rural Philippines. I did a study on the most desirable lights to take on visits and came up with:

CMG Infinity - Long run time on commonly available AA batteries. Enough light for most tasks. Waterproof, and well constructed. An Arc AA would also fit the bill too.

Freelight - Solar. No need for batteries. Excellent backup light. Waterproof and good brightness, but the solar cell can be a bit fragile.