Fenix Outfitters        
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Surefire A2 question

  1. #1
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    114

    Default Surefire A2 question

    I did a search & did not come up with any hits, But has anyone been able to put the mno3 bulb in an a2?

  2. #2
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    cali.
    Posts
    3,844

    Default Re: Surefire A2 question

    No...Won't fit.

    --dan

  3. #3
    Flashaholic* chamenos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,143

    Default Re: Surefire A2 question

    plus the MN03 will be underdriven, so it will be dimmer and yellow.

  4. #4
    *Flashaholic* this_is_nascar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Gloucester, New Jersey
    Posts
    7,567

    Default Re: Surefire A2 question

    What one of our modders need to figure out is how to get the regulation sandwich of the A2 into an E2E. Now we're talking one bad-ass light.

  5. #5
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    3,635

    Default Re: Surefire A2 question

    nascar,
    I'd go for one of those. It'd be a little longer than the standard E2e, but the regulated light would be great.

  6. #6
    Flashaholic* chamenos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,143

    Default Re: Surefire A2 question

    or how to make a LS work in the A2 in place of the incandescent LA [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

  7. #7
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    3,635

    Default Re: Surefire A2 question

    chameos,
    This concept was visited awhile back. I believe that the problem was that the regulation in the A2 is voltage regualtion and you need current regulation for an LS. I had sent CM a couple of A2's awhile back and he did exploratory surgery on them. I don't think that he pursued it any further though. He had other irons on the fire, so to speak. I would imagine that the voltage regulator could be replaced with a current regulator, but haven't seen it done yet.

  8. #8
    Flashaholic* chamenos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,143

    Default Re: Surefire A2 question

    i know...it would be really nice if it was possible though; then my A2 would be perfect in every aspect [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

  9. #9
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    3,635

    Default Re: Surefire A2 question

    chamenos,
    Did you see the sale on the A2 at Botach? Incredible. I know why we never pursued it. It's because CM and I are both cheap bastages and the A2 will NOT accomodate rechargeables.

    You know what, I just may go ahead and buy an A2 and make it one of my near future projects. Although I don't have any technical expertise with circuits, I could probably get away with devising a method of replacing the circuit.

    If I can keep my bike running, I shouldn't let this flashlight intimidate me, eh. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

  10. #10
    Flashaholic* chamenos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,143

    Default Re: Surefire A2 question

    i'll be cheering you on! let me know if you come up with something [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •