EDC Needs for the Coming New Year

andrewnewman

Enlightened
With the new year approaching and the snow falling outside, I am once again considering my flashlight EDC needs and how to best meet them for 2013.

A few scenarios come to mind:

#1) "With my heart pounding I approach the warehouse where the armed suspect has chosen to hide. After calling for backup I enter the side door that has been forced open. Reaching for my trusty belt light, I shower a cannon of illumination on the walls and ceiling. The warehouse lights up like an indoor stadium and I wait. A shadow near a large red container gives away the suspect's location. 'Step out with both hands raised!', I command. He complies, and just as backup arrives I take the man into custody with no shots fired...". Oh wait, that doesn't work. I'm a software engineer, not a law enforcement officer.

Ok, how about:

#2) "It's 2 in the morning when the sound of activity awakens me. I sneak quietly down the stairs and into the kitchen where I see in the moonlight a burglar with all of my worldly posessions in a burlap sack. He pauses to do some victory PCP on my kitchen table as I approach. I silently switch my flashlight to the stun setting and aim for the face. As the blinding strobe light comes on, the man tries to shade his eyes. Too late. As he drops to his knees begging for me to stop, I calmly dial 911...". Hang on, I think I may have read somewhere that strobe lights can't actually do that.

Perhaps: