almost ready for a Malkoff...

k12cop

Newly Enlightened
I got a drop in (xpg) for my 4d mag and was blown away...now I'm thinking a turnkey md2...this would be a duty light (currently running shiningbeam blaze) so I'm curious what you guys think...I'm right on the edge, just need a little push...

Anyone running one if these in police, fire, rescue duty? How's it holding up? Any issues?

Norm

Retired Administrator
I can assure you there's no need to wait, I ordered one and am now waiting on my third, also bought a Hound Dog between MD2s.
I have seen posts from First Responders who seem very pleased with their MD2s.

They are built to handle the rough going, the two speed ring is the perfect UI solution IMHO.

Norm

Last edited:

P_A_S_1

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've been using mine, MD2 w/M61w drop in, for a few months and I'm happy with it. It's a good size, belt or pocket carry is fine, and the many different configurations for the battery options and drop ins make it versatile. I'm running mine with 18650s and I'm pleased with both the output and runtime. It's been banged around a bit over the last few months and other then cosmetic damage I've had no issues. The M61w drop in has a nice wide beam which is pretty useful and bright enough however if your looking for a light with lots of throw this isn't it. While not listed on the malkoff site there is now a M61n which boasts more lumens, 300 vs 200, over the M61w while runtimes and voltage range stays the same, I wish it was available when i brought mine. The high/low ring is nice, I personally don't use it a lot, but its nice to have and seems to be pretty robust. The knurling on the body is fine but personally I would prefer it to be more aggressive and the body has no anti-roll feature other then installing the factory clip which has been out of stock for a while, however some rubber bands around the bezel is a quick fix. Overall it's good, you'll be happy with it. good luck.

twl

Flashlight Enthusiast