Newbie to Cree Looking for some advice....

dodgefate

Newly Enlightened
Hi all long time reader first time poster... Let me start of by telling you what I want to build. I am a police officer and work at a gun store part-time. I have noticed that there is a billion of manufactures that make micro lazers for guns but none that make small flashlights. What I am trying to do
is take a cree led like this one and make a housing around it and bea able to clip it onto a gun (the test gun and waht I want it for is a sig sauer p238). I have a long process in front of me to make this but I wanted to see if anyone can explin to me what is involved in getting one of these lil sucker lite up. I figure that I will need some sort of magnifying lense on the front of it, batteries to power it and a simple on and off swich. Could these lights be powered with button cell battries? Do I need to add resistors in line? where do I solder the conponets to. I am trying to avoid using a board and direct solder the bulb. The whole thing I wana keep just a bit bigger than a CR-123 Battery. Any help would be greatly appricicated! Let me know if It is even possible.

See Rule #3 Do not Hot Link images. Please host on an image site, Imageshack or similar and repost – Thanks Norm

Last edited by a moderator:

RoGuE_StreaK

Enlightened
Personally, unless you wanted to go into production I'd just stick with stock lights currently available, maybe slightly modified.
I am trying to avoid using a board and direct solder the bulb. The whole thing I wana keep just a bit bigger than a CR-123 Battery. Any help would be greatly appricicated! Let me know if It is even possible.
Perhaps you could start with a 123 light and have it cut down to suit a smaller battery, so the lense/reflector/whatever assembly plus battery comes down to near 123 length?
Check this list of li-ion battery sizes:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_battery_sizes#Round_lithium-ion_rechargeable