Light Projects, just some ideas...

Iry

Newly Enlightened
Hi all!

Im new here so looking for loads of advice. I have an medium interest in flashlights and things that "make bright", having collected a few, I now want to build my own, as its just more fun and a sense of pride being able to say, Yeah, I made this one myself!

Anyway, projects I had in mind are: A bike light with a bit of throw and good flood, as I ride to work and in the winter its rather dark over here in the UK. Something with a separate batt. pack running maybe 2 18650's ( Its a short ride ;) ) with a high and low level is what I had in mind. I been looking at various websites ( DX, RS Components(UK website, reasonable range of stock, seems more organised than farnells)) and had the Luminus SST-90 in mind. But as I'm completely new at this, I need some advice regarding things like what driver board to use, reflector or lense, housing and heatsinking. Those being the major issues, I figured that'd be what I need help with, general putting together and wiring/soldering I feel competent enough with :tinfoil: .

Other projects I want to have a bash at are things like a headlamp with a really good flood and run time for hiking; an EDC-type "hand-canon" with huge output AND as much run time as possible.

Like I said, most of what I need is advice about matching emitters with lenses/reflectors, and managing heat. Unfortunately I dont have access or skills with machining tools such as lathes, the limit is a drill and dremel, so I'll be looking for ideas about housing all the bits and pieces.

Right. Thanks in advance, I've read quite a few threads on here and you all seem like a great bunch, and have the knowledge to boot!

Cheers,
Iry

AnAppleSnail

Flashlight Enthusiast