Hello I am new with questions already

Skydancer

Newly Enlightened
Hello all. I just recently joined this wonderful forum and wanted to introduce myself. I am very interested in spotlights and or searchlights. I have always wanted to create a searchlight that could "slice" into the night sky and have started small with such as a 35watt hid spotlight and focusing it with a fresnel lens. I can't say that's the best method but, it creates a beam and the fact that fresnel lens can do just that is an improvement on my ideas. Anyways was just wanted to introduce myself and was just wondering if anyone knew how I should go about creating a homemade searchlight. I would like to keep it as inexpensive as possible but, sometimes it's hard to.:shrug: Anyways thanks for looking at my post and maybe you can get me going in the right direction on this. :twothumbs

Skydancer

Newly Enlightened
Noob to searchlights. Recommendations for a noob searchlight?

Hi I am brand new to searchlights and would like to get more familiar with them. Right now I am just looking for some ideas on a cheap (budget) working searchlight that will create a decent beam to cut into the sky. Just something that would impress a noob like me:laughing:. But cheap. At this point I have tried ideas like the one that involved putting a fresnel lens in front of a 35watt hid spotlight (that has tons of spill) and it makes a decent beam but nothing to that will be seen for blocks away. Anyways just let me in on some ideas that you have. I would really like to make something with a good amount of lumens and a nice beam but still budget permitting. Thanks for your help!

Skydancer

Newly Enlightened
Noob with searchlights. Where to start?