Laws on searchlights if I live in flight paths for airports?

Skydancer

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone. I am new to searchlights and before I even try to brainstorm an design for one, does anyone know what the laws are for shinning a searchlight into the sky. I'm talking about like the types that hit clouds. I know it is kind of stupid question but, with how strict the laws are on lasers, it just makes me curious. I know most of the time it would just be like a laser and keep it shinning away from aircraft. Anyways thanks for checking this out.

edit: thanks for for the information. I'm gonna try calling my local faa. Btw I have a 35 watt hid spotlight and when I use a fresnel lens it creates a beam that hits clouds. Now this isn't any special searchlight with x and y axis I'm just making a solid still beam that really isn't that bright at all. But do you think it's worth contacting the faa for that?
im thinking when I get a REAL searchlight up and running it will make more sense to contact the faa.

Last edited:

get-lit

Flashlight Enthusiast
This is controlled voluntarily by search light operators and the FAA, and if it's not abused there won't need to be any new laws written. Contact the FAA with the intended time and place of your search light operations, and cooperate if they deem it unsafe for your location.

get-lit

Flashlight Enthusiast
28 days is way too long in my opinion because it takes the fun out of using the lights when you want to. That's just overboard.

We don't have a law like that here in the US, so if you're here, be sure to cooperate voluntarily.

Skydancer

Newly Enlightened
Yeah definite way to long but, I am located in NY state usa. Thanks for info. This will def. be something ill keep up on when I build a searchlight. Right now all I have got is a 35 watt hid spotlight and a fresnel lens but, what a difference the fresnel makes! It hits low clouds to. :)

Skydancer

Newly Enlightened
Who do you call before searchlight use?