Brightness Differential

rlichter

Newly Enlightened
The new Sunwayman Sirius has a brightness differential in "low" of 10:1 between an RCR123 and a CR123, 10 lumen versus 1 lumen. I have no prior experience with the RCR123 and have never used a pair of CR123s in my 18650 lights, so I don't know if this degree of difference is normal. I don't think this is an issue with my HDS Clicky, so I know a driver circuit can be designed that is more or less consistent in brightness whether a primary lithium or the rechargeable lithium-ion is used. Presumably Sunwayman know what they're doing, so why design and release an expensive ($200) light with this problem? What are the technical reasons for this brightness differential (which only shows up on "low" and not on "medium" or "high")?

laserle

Newly Enlightened
1. Wavelength: 635nm, 650nm, 658nm

2 Pupil Power: 0.3mW ~ 200mW

3 angle: 10 ° ~ 90 °

4 line widths: 50cm at most fine 0.5mm; 1.5m at the thinnest 0.8mm; 6m at the smallest 2mm; finest 10m 3.5mm

5 optical system: a spherical glass lens group, the quality aspherical glass lens.

6 Bending: ≤ 1mm @ 5m Operating voltage: DC 3V, 4.5V, 5V, 9V, 12V (optional)

7 Laser class: II, Ⅲ a, III b Operating temperature: -10 ℃ to 50 ℃; part up to: -10 ℃ ~ 70 ℃ Storage Temperature: -40 ℃ ~ 80 ℃

Thanks you!

laserle:D

tolkaze

Enlightened
Circuit design is expensive, I assume they want to give higher levels on high with a RCR as a bonus (maybe for advertising) and I assume it is easier to just have all levels act the same.
For example: