Olight S10 won't turn on with Trustfire flame 16340

Cappys29

Newly Enlightened
Forgive me if there is a really stupid reason why this isn't working because I am new to this, but I just got a Olight S10, and when I put a Trustfire Flame 16340 in it, it won't turn on. When I put a standard cr123 primary in it, it works. I have 8 brand new Trustfire Flames and I charged 4 of them and the other 4 I just took out of the pack. I tried all 8 of them and none of them work. The voltage in the ones that I charged are 4.191 and the voltage in the ones I didn't were around 3.8. I don't have any other light that takes these batteries so I can't try them in another light. I was under the impression I could use these cells in this light, am I wrong?

jay_rush

Unenlightened
make sure when u put the trustfires in, the tail cap is on REAL tight. i had that problem with some of my other batteries in my s10. if u only have one cr123 light try put 2 trustfires in an 18650 light, see if they work from that. but 90% those batteries just suck and u need other ones.

Racer

Enlightened
I'd start with a voltmeter if you have one just as a reality check. Those TF flame 16340's have done me OK overall, but I recently ordered a bunch of EagleTac's from GoingGear, so I'm excited to see the difference in run time.

Cappys29

Newly Enlightened
Jay Rush hit the nail on the head. I tightened it really tight, I mean REALLY tight, and it worked. As for the Trustfire flames, I always thought they were decent that's why I bought them. What battery do you recommend for this light? Nitecore RCR123? What are the EagleTac's you mentioned?

Badbeams3

Flashlight Enthusiast
Eagletacs are fine batts...but I had one S10 that they were to fat to fit in properly. So I would not order more than one to be sure...AW brand I heard works/fits well. The Nitecores are only rated at 650 mha...many others are rated at 750 mha...

The Trustfires you have must not have the positive tip extended out as much as others....