HP 17" Notebook, Yes or No

DieselDave

Super Moderator,
HP 17\" Notebook, Yes or No

My Dad is looking at the notebook linked below. Anybody have a comment or experience with the 17" screens or these notebooks in general? He has an HP now that has given him good service for 6 years but it's tired and he wants another HP. He will be using the wireless network at home. It has the 54g network card and he isn't sure about that over the 802.11b. He's asking me and I could give him an opinion but I also knew I could come here for the right answer from some of you laptop pros.

Thanks

HP zd7058cl

_mike_

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: HP 17\" Notebook, Yes or No

I have no experience with that laptop. However, most places have what they call refurbished units. Dell, IBM, Gateway, and HP. The HP refurbs can be found here.

They don't make the refurbs easy to find, and there are some good deals if you know what your looking for. Generally, you type in the word "refurbished" (without the quotation marks) in their search box to find them. Generally, they carry some kind of warranty. Also, many of them are stock over runs or uints that simply returned and never used. The company checks them out and since they can't sell them new .... they have to sell them as refurbished. I like to check there first, to see what I can find.

Hope this helps,

Mike

Eugene

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: HP 17

Ok, I'll ask a question and hope that your not thinking I'm being mean and rude, but what good will wireless do on a 17" notebook, the thing will be too big and heavy to carry around /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Just a pet peeve with me I guess, laptops/notebooks keep getting bigger and desktops keep getting smaller. I have a "desktop" which is 8"x8"x1.75" (mini-itx). It seems smaller and lighter than my wife's 14" laptop. My laptop has a 12" display.

DieselDave

Super Moderator,

If he was still traveling your assumptions would be correct, but he's not.