Will XM-L2 D25C and D25A retain 4 distinct modes w/ 3.7v?

joelbnyc

Enlightened
For 1xcr123 size vs 1xAA size edc lights, my thoughts are, if using a 3.7v gives you only low and super-high, I'd stick with the 1xCR123 because then I'll have both a usable medium and a high lumen turbo. But if the light retains all distinct modes with 3.7v rechargeables, I'd go with 1xAA because then I'll have versatility of accepting AA's and longer runtimes, but also the high-lumens of 3.7v 14500s (correct me if I'm wrong, I'm new to this).

Specifically I'm waiting for updated Cree XM-L2 eagletac D25 either C or A clicky non-Ti. I emailed eagletac-usa to answer this mode question, I'll post the response I get, might be of interest.

Edit, I see the d25lc2 2xcr123 lights also take 18650's, are the distinct modes retained with 1x 18650? Maybe this version makes more sense.

Last edited:

Fireclaw18

Flashlight Enthusiast
For 1xcr123 size vs 1xAA size edc lights, my thoughts are, if using a 3.7v gives you only low and super-high, I'd stick with the 1xCR123 because then I'll have both a usable medium and a high lumen turbo. But if the light retains all distinct modes with 3.7v rechargeables, I'd go with 1xAA because then I'll have versatility of accepting AA's and longer runtimes, but also the high-lumens of 3.7v 14500s (correct me if I'm wrong, I'm new to this).

Specifically I'm waiting for updated Cree XM-L2 eagletac D25 either C or A clicky non-Ti. I emailed eagletac-usa to answer this mode question, I'll post the response I get, might be of interest.

Edit, I see the d25lc2 2xcr123 lights also take 18650's, are the distinct modes retained with 1x 18650? Maybe this version makes more sense.

I have a 2013 edition D25c Ti that came with an XML-U2, which I swapped for an XM-L2 T6 neutral. It maintains all 4 modes running on IMR 16340.

Presumably when Eagletac starts producing its own XML2 D25cs, they will simply use the same driver as in the 2013 Ti version.

Last edited:

shelm