Help with a new flashlight decision

Minimalist_

Newly Enlightened
I'm a noob when it comes to this so I was hoping I could get some input on how to make an informed decision. I'm debating whether I should buy a Surefire E2D or a Fenix PD32UE. I understand the basics but the price point is pretty far apart so I'm curious what you guys would think about both and where you'd lean.

Minimalist_

Newly Enlightened
I don't own the PD32UE, but I have the regular PD32 and it's just awesome! Really nice light that has replaced both my PD20 and QT2L for EDC.

What I don't get is why it's so much cheaper than the E2D when it has much better specs.

cerbie

Enlightened
PD32UE v. LX2 (similar price to E2D): LX2 by a mile (just get a diffuser for near use).

PD32UE v. E2D: the E2D will be more comfortable to hold, and the anodizing will probably survive longer. May as well get the Fenix, unless you plan to severely abuse it.

Jash

Flashlight Enthusiast
Just a point of interest, I really hate that Fenix makes their clips with such large bent sections for when attaching the clip. I ground mine off and then polished it so it fits flush with the body. Makes it much more comfortable to hold. Did this to all my Fenix clips except on the PD20.

JCD

Enlightened
What I don't get is why it's so much cheaper than the E2D when it has much better specs.

Higher quality commands higher prices.

I own a Fenix PD30, and owned a P3D before I gave it away. While both are of generally good quality, both had machining flaws. In particular, the cavity of the battery tube is not centered in either, so the wall thickness is different from one side of the light to the other. None of my Surefire lights (I have about a dozen of them) have any such structural flaws. (To be fair, the anodizing of the bezel, body, and tailcap often do not match on SF lights.)

Minimalist_

Newly Enlightened
Higher quality commands higher prices.