What's happening to me?

mcbrat

Flashlight Enthusiast
What's happening to me?

I've always been a "boy scout" as my wife says. the guy to go to if someone needed a tool, or help fixing something. Had a few Maglites, a few 5mm LED lights, and some vintage copper flashlights I fixed up. caried knives and lights over the years (not so much in current job) but all the time when I was a network tech.

Then I find this place. and the EDC forums.
Wallet is much lighter now. Bag I carry to work is heavier, and I find myself looking at every flashlight I find in the stores.

I only have a couple lights over 500 lumens, but now, looking at 200 lumen lights seems very underwhelming and all my Incans have either been converted to some form of LED or the light has been put in the "garage sale" pile...

how much worse(better) will it get? :help:

scout24

Flashaholic
Run far, run fast... :) Do yourself a favor, though, and keep some of your incan stuff. Trust me. Especially if they are Surefire. Some here come full circle with time, and re-develop an appreciation for the joys of incandescent lights. Some never left it, and are not overwhelmed by the purported benefits of LED's. It's a friendly place, by and large, with a lot of great people. You generally get what you pay for. :) As far as 200 lumens not seeming impressive, more is not always better. Welcome, by the way...

enomosiki

Flashlight Enthusiast
You should invest in a good P60 host and ask either nailbender or vinhnguyen54 to cook you up something. They'll make you some mind-bogglingly bright drop-ins for very affordable price.

I got vinh's XM-L2 copper-bonded drop-in that's driven at 4.2A sitting inside my C2. 1,300 OTF lumens. The only other thing that's brighter than it would be quad XP-G2 drop-ins and MT-G2 on direct drive.

JCD

Enlightened