Anything more powerful than the Surefire Fury P2X?

hwalbe1

Newly Enlightened
Greetings,

Newbie here that loves the form and function of the Surefire Fury P2X. I especially like the tailcap switch (sans switches on the side), the simplicity of only two modes: 500 and 15 lumens (although a strobe might be nice), and the compact size from using only two CR123 batteries.

I see flashlights advertising 1000+ lumens, but I am a little skeptical about some of these claims, particularly with the cheaper varieties. I would be grateful if anyone could recommend a flashlight that meets the criteria listed above that would be noticeably more powerful than 500 lumens.

Great forum, thanks in advance for any advice,

Herb

MatthewSB

Enlightened
I see flashlights advertising 1000+ lumens, but I am a little skeptical about some of these claims, particularly with the cheaper varieties. I would be grateful if anyone could recommend a flashlight that meets the criteria listed above that would be noticeably more powerful than 500 lumens.

My "500 lumen" SF Fury is brighter, with better throw and flood, than a co-workers "800 lumen" NiteCore.

I don't believe lumen claims, other than to compare within a brand, and have to test a light first when switching brands.

TEEJ

Flashaholic
You can't SEE lumens, you can only see lux. So, when people try to compare lights with various lumen out puts, they really can't....what they really see are the lux, which are a function of the beam angle if the lumens are the same for example.

IE: I can have a 131 lumen maglight and a 600 lumen Klarus XT11, and point them both at a wall, and everyone will say the maglight is brighter...because its 131 lumens are all concentrated into one small hot spot, which then glares back to the eye as a high lux value that constricts your pupils and is perceived as "Bright". The XT11's 600 lumens are more spread out, and therefore the lux values are smaller, but over a wider area.