best batteries for best performance

vader

Newly Enlightened
Years ago I used to post on this forum, then I had kids and poof, all the money went bye bye. Now I am back into lights again and I am buying a Trustfire TR-J187 X Cree. Here is a link http://dx.com/p/trustfire-tr-j18-7-...ite-flashlight-black-2-3-x-18650-26650-146727. I am looking to get the best performance or most light that I can from this flashlight. The flashlight takes either 26650 or 18650 batteries and says it runs at 3000 mah. does anybody out there know which type battery would be best and perhaps have a recommendation as to a specific battery. I am looking at buying some 18650's from spiderfire, they are rated at 3000 mah and are lithium ion. here is a link. http://dx.com/p/spiderfire-protected-18650-3-7v-3000mah-batteries-pair-50481. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Tulip bush

Enlightened
I've just bought a eagletac 3400, not bad price. I'm no expert on batteries ,but have you seen there is a battery link in the forum menu.

RedForest UK

Flashlight Enthusiast
I wouldn't get those spiderfire brand batteries, the quality isn't great and the capacity claims almost certainly exaggerated. The key thing is the cell inside.

The TR-J18 doesn't have low-voltage protection and can pull cells down to around 2.5v so I would go for Panasonic NCR series based ones. A lot of brands do protected versions, the cheapest being available at Fasttech; you could search either Panasonic 2900, 3100 or 3400.

If you want a US seller then Orbtronic and Callies Customs do some decent deals, their batteries being the same Panasonic base cell with a good PCM added by 'keeppower'. In fact, almost all of the top quality 18650 sellers bar AW are their own label on keeppower assembled cells so you're best just looking for the cheapest deal as long as you can be sure they have the genuine Sanyo or Panasonic cell inside.

justanotherguy

Enlightened