Li-ion battery question

BeastFlashlight

Flashlight Enthusiast
Total novice question, I read that it's not good to store your lithium ion batteries charged. I can't help but think 'Duh', i'll be 'storing' some of my batteries inside flashlights that I'll only be using when the 'unexpected' need arrises! Does it not defeat the purpose then to store dead batteries? Ok I need my flashlight now, but I gotta wait 3 hrs for a charge??

HotWire

Flashlight Enthusiast
The li-ion batteries I use are charge and either in the flashlight or ready to be placed in the flashlight as backup. My reserve batteries are stored at about 1/2 charge. There are battery expert here who can tell you more. Works for me!

BeastFlashlight

Flashlight Enthusiast
My personal preference is to keep my living room above 25 degrees lol. Not sure what the technical issues are with charged batteries being stored. Do u know why u are storing your batteries at 50%? Why are charged stored batteries bad? My batteries cost about $20 a piece I don't want to ruin them, I mean what are the specifics, if storing a charged battery degrades it's capacity by 1% per year I don't care. If it degrades it 5% per month I'd like to know why this is, and can I solve the problem by storing them at 90%...80%...70%...???

HKJ

Flashaholic
My personal preference is to keep my living room above 25 degrees lol. Not sure what the technical issues are with charged batteries being stored. Do u know why u are storing your batteries at 50%? Why are charged stored batteries bad? My batteries cost about $20 a piece I don't want to ruin them, I mean what are the specifics, if storing a charged battery degrades it's capacity by 1% per year I don't care. If it degrades it 5% per month I'd like to know why this is, and can I solve the problem by storing them at 90%...80%...70%...???

At 25 degree you looses about 20 percent each year from a fully charged battery, but only 4% if it is at 40% charge.