2xAA :- Quark Turbo QB2A vs. Javelin Dereelight vs. Eagletac D25A2 Clicky

HtR

Newly Enlightened
As a relatively newly minted flashlight guy, I wanted a 2xAA unit for my edc.

In the end, I acquired the 3 lights in the titled thread, though not without experimentation and re-assessment along the journey.

Selfbuilt has done comprehensive reviews on some of these lights, so I will not repeat what was said. I am also in no position to replicate his testing methodology because I am not a flashlight techie. I am just an operator. What is important to me, beyond all the raw numbers, data, graphs and assorted myraid of lumen ratings, is how the light actually performed for me right there, right then, in the field.

My thoughts on these lights are particular to me. You may have a different opinion and your mileage may vary with your experience.

If you do not want to read all my ramblings and skip straight to the conclusion, my current 2xAA edc and by far my favourite amongst the 3 lights is the Quark QB2A Turbo from FourSevens.

I started this little adventure over a year ago with the Eagletac D25A2 Clicky. At the time, Eagletac was just releasing their D25 Clicky series and I eagerly jumped on the bandwagon to become an early adopter of their D25A2 Clicky w/ the Cree XPG-S2.
This was the only Eagletac light I have owned and operated and my comments pertain to the one light only.

Naturally, I was quite excited to receive the light. It was slim and compact, rides well in my jeans pocket, and if you read their specs it had all the modes and other bells & whistles that you expect. Selfbuilt mentioned this being one of the highest output lights in its class and certainly the beam did not disappoint. On max, it throws out a nice wide, usable beam to a reasonable distance which was more than adequate for my needs.