Powerizer Charger And K2 LFP 123 Batteries.

nightspark

Newly Enlightened
So I brought a pair of K2 123a batteries and a Powerizer charger. I then found out that the charger (I brought it from zbattery) is only for Powerizer batteries. I doubt it's true, but I want to make sure. I do know that the Powerizer batteries are 450mAh and the K2s are 600mAh. Will I do any damage to the charger or batteries. Also what's a good charger for LFP 123 batteries. I would like to get the Xtar VP1, but it doesn't charge LFP 123s.

Charger Specs:

Input: 100-240V, 50/60Hz
Output: DC 3.8V
Charging Current: 480mA (single battery), 240mA (dual)

Last edited:

jasonck08

Flashlight Enthusiast
It says they are "only" for their batteries, however both are LiFePo4 batteries, so I don't anticipate a problem, although I can't vouch for the quality of the charger, as I have no experience with it.

nightspark

Newly Enlightened
I topped them off last night and didn't run into any problems. So I think "only for Powerizer batteries" may be only for marketing. The only thing that catches my attention is that the specs s that the output is 3.8 volts. Will that be a problem for the K2 batteries?

Robin24k

Flashlight Enthusiast
It will slightly overcharge lithium-phosphate batteries, which should come off the charger at 3.65V. If you have a multimeter, check the voltage of fully charged batteries.

nightspark

Newly Enlightened
It will slightly overcharge lithium-phosphate batteries, which should come off the charger at 3.65V. If you have a multimeter, check the voltage of fully charged batteries.
Unfortunately I don't have a multimeter, so I can't check the voltage. I will take your word for it, however. Will I be doing any major damage to my Mag Tac or the batteries? If so, what charger would you recommend?

Robin24k

Flashlight Enthusiast