Red LED and driver

activeviii

Newly Enlightened
Hello All,I have been a round a little while and reading and searching but i cant find the information.I am new to the modding but have access to the tools needed.Im wanting to mod a new torch so it runs with a red led but all this driver stuff is a little to much for me to take in.I have found a SupFire® X6-T6 XML T6 LED Light source 1200lumens flashlight with a 63mm head. Im thinking that if i was to get an asymmetric Lens, light the deerelight xsearcher or night master then i could have a half decent thrower.next thing was i real would light itto run a led ledI belive i need something like an Osram black red LED. not sure so guidance greatly received.i have no idea about drivers, i cant get my head around them. i want to run 2 x 18650 batteries and if i can have 3 modes than that would be grand. (hi, mid and low)I can make the pill so a p60 type drop in wouldn't been needed, just the led and the drive and maybe a little help understanding them.sorry if this has been asked before, i have been looking for a long time but cant find the answers.thanks gents for any help you can offer.Thanks for your timeAll the bestPhil

alpg88

Flashlight Enthusiast
SupFire® X6-T6 XML T6 LED isa desent thrower without aspheric lenses.

xml is driven at 3A max, there are few red leds on the market, exsept sst90red none will handle 3A, there are cree xpg xre red leds and rebel, all max out at 700ma. there are also no name chinise red leds but they too max out at 700ma.

you need any of those leds, not sure if sst90 will fit right and still be in focus, but cree and rebel should, and driver that is 700ma max.
wich driver exactly, can be determined when you actualy take your light apart, or find pics of someone else that took same light apart.

activeviii

Newly Enlightened
thank you for the help much needed,

just before i order the SupFire i have also read about the SMALL SUN ZY-T13 CREE T6 10W 1200LM 5 Modes Flashlight Torch Black.