Unsure what's going on with my mtg2

I made up a copper slug (terminology??) for the mtg2 to run direct drive in my z2. I'm not good with soldering so I had a few issues along the way. I had a couple of shots at soldering the led to the copper because I used a little too much solder first time and it basically flooded the back of the led. So I'm thinking I may have overheated the led but don't really know. Another problem I had was I used a small spring clamp to hold the led and when the heat got into the led the first time the clamp stripped the dome off.:ironic:

I thought it was completely stuffed at that point but when I tested the led it still worked. So I continued to mount the led with negative and thermal pad soldered to the copper slug and positive to the spring at the rear of the slug. Install into the host, it works:huh:

Very warm colour and smooth floody beam profile but not quite the output I was expecting. I'm using the 2x surefire 123a batteries and wondered if they weren't coping but they hold higher volts and amps when connected to an sst-90. The measurements I got were 1.6v and 0.16a on the mtg2.

What happened? Did I cook the led? I understand it cannot be fixed, I just want to know so I don't repeat the same exercise with another led. Any help/advice appreciated.

Last edited:
I took some pics with my phone so they are no the best.
picture.php

The colour is not quite as yellow as pictured.
picture.php

TEEJ

Flashaholic
I made up a copper slug (terminology??) for the mtg2 to run direct drive in my z2. I'm not good with soldering so I had a few issues along the way. I had a couple of shots at soldering the led to the copper because I used a little too much solder first time and it basically flooded the back of the led. So I'm thinking I may have overheated the led but don't really know. Another problem I had was I used a small spring clamp to hold the led and when the heat got into the led the first time the clamp stripped the dome off.:ironic: