What event made you a flashaholic?

whiteoakjoe

Enlightened
I can tell you the moment that led me to a life long need for good flashlights. I was a young Officer not long out of the Academy and 21 years old. I was issued a 4C Mag and a Mini Mag, for my belt. I worked nights and while looking for what was reported as an armed individual on a long search, I watched the "Big Mag" go dim. I carried on with the Mini Mag and it's anemic beam, all ended well with the surrender of an unarmed kid, who was just snooping where he should not have been. However, that night in the early 90's left me with a feeling that I never want to encounter again. I quickly ordered the Surefire I had been seeing advertized and found a pouch that would hold 4 extra 123A's. The 6P light was more that I ever imagined I would pay for a flashlight but I still have that light some 22 years later.

I left the service 5 years ago in search of more money and solitude, and moved out of the city and to a small farm a mile away from any neighbors. The 6P and a couple of Streamlight Stingers came with me. Because they had become trused frineds in the years that had passed since the Mag went dim. But the LED revolution had begun, and I grabbed on with both hands. First with Fenix lights then with 6P upgrades, and now Several brands and a couple dozen or so LED lights. I am not ashamed to admit they are a bit of a secutity blanket for me. And I suspect that it will always be that way.

I imagine that many of you have a similar moment when all went dark and the importance of a flashlight was set in stone in your mind. Just wondering what that moment was? Or what light let you down, and to the CPF and a love of Flashlights?

yearnslow

Enlightened