Youtube / Flash Player challenges

HarryN

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi, I am having some challenges lately with watching youtube videos and wondered if anyone can give me some pointers.

a) Hardware / OS - HP laptop 6475b running AMD Turion 64x2, 4 gig ram, windows vista 64 bit pro

b) Where it started
- I usually use IE (9 in this case) and youtube was working more or less ok. I don't remember the videos have problems, but there could have been a few. I tend to set privacy settings medium to high and dump cookies as fast as possible.

- About 2 weeks ago I downloaded and am testing firefox 20.0 as an alternative browser, and nearly every video seemed to lock up the browser. I am new to firefox so I assumed the problem was some setting I was using. The only way to exit was a ctrl/ alt / del (task manager) and then shutting down the browser. Since then, I have upgraded the browser to 201.0.1, same result.

- This past week, even using IE, the videos starting pushing to upgrade to the lastest flash player. Some still worked, but others would not, so finally I did. What I didn't do though, is allow it to install the google chrome browser or tool bars, which it tried to do by default.

The current situation is that perhaps 25% of the videos work, but the rest do not, even on IE.

It looks like google has done something to youtube to force some setting on computers, but I am not really sure what it is or why. Any suggestions ?

Thanks

Harry

ElectronGuru

Flashaholic
Flash is a horrific format for video and became the standard only because it came built in while all the others required user installed plug ins (or a specific platform). Flash is CPU and memory intensive, so assuming your connection is good and you are allowing time for the content to spool in (play - pause - wait - play to be sure), focus first on resources.