Magfire 100

Rovert

Newly Enlightened
Hi Guys, I'm fairly new here & to flashlights also.
This is my first major mod, up until now i've only been doing minor stuff like led & driver swaps, de-doming, reflector swaps etc.
I am just a novice so please feel free to pull me up on anything i have said here that you feel is incorrect.
My name is Trevor & i'm an old guy that has spent my life modding/restoring/making stuff. I'm a house builder by trade which is my bread & butter but i also build & restore cars for some of my customers.
I have too many hobbies & along with that goes too many ex wives.
Enough about me onto this flashlight.
A while back I purchased a Trustfire X100 off Ali Express, it was pretty good for what it was.
Well made, generally good fit & finish, nice threads, good ano.
However, way, way under driven & for good reason.
The TF X100 appears to be a big chunk of Aluminium with really good potential via all of those radiating fins surrounding the head.
That is what appealed to me when I purchased it.
But all is not as it seems, read on.
I have seen a couple of guys mod this flashlight on various forums, but i feel they have failed to address the core problems with it.
Now this is just my take on this, maybe i haven't learned all i think i have in my time here.
Anyhow I'll let you guys form your own opinions, lets get some pics happening.

Above pic is what you see under the reflector of the TF X100, 7 X XML t6's.
The holes around the centre led are for screws to come up from under neath to hold the reflector down

Last edited:

Rovert

Newly Enlightened
Pretty Standard stuff, it really is a big chunky looking bit of gear.
But in reality the led's sit on a 3mm thick empty void.
I'll throw up a few more pics to show a bit more detail.

Above, Leds offf their stars

Above, stars removed from Head.
This shot shows the really crap job on the thermal epoxy.
it varied from really thick under some, to bearly half of the star stuck on others.