Flying LED's?

BugLightGeek

Flashlight Enthusiast
Flying LED\'s?

I was doing a little NON-FLASHLIGHT related browsing when I came across something that looks interesting...

Frizbee with LED's. Anyone seen these in person?
Sounds fun, regardless... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Xrunner

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: Flying LED\'s?

I've seen them in person and they are pretty cool. There are a few brands out there, and are fun to play with (or just watch) at night. Some do tend to fly better than others.

-Mike

IsaacHayes

Flashlight Enthusiast

Hmm. the title of this thread makes me want to buy a bunch of cheap LED's and put a 12v battery up to them and send them up in the air on a helium balloon over some poor farmers house at night. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

kitelights

Flashlight Enthusiast

My screen name is for "real." I started playing with LEDs 3-4 years ago making ultra-light lights for stunt kites. These are 2 - 4 line kites that you control. There are competition meets - local, national and international. The idea was to make lights that were lightweight enough to not interfere with the flying characteristics of the kite so that serious flyers could extend their flying time into the evening hours. Came up with some pretty good prototypes, but due to the labor involved, was not able to produce the prototype in volume. It's really cool seeing a master class flyer flying a delta shaped stunt kite at night where all you see is the string of LEDs outlining the leading edge.

The_LED_Museum

*Retired*

[ QUOTE ]
ChrisM said:
I wonder if LED Museum or Quickbeam have taken a look at these...?

[/ QUOTE ]
I've never seen or used a FlashFlight. Then again, it's a bit hard to play frisbee in an electric wheelchair, so getting action shots might be a bit problematic. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif
Maybe Doug would be better equipped to review one of these.

reviewum

Enlightened