Help me pick a torch!

hallex

Newly Enlightened
Hi. I am an aircraft mechanic, and am looking for a flashlight to use while inspecting planes for cracks/debris. Would maybe occasionally use it while working in a tight spot, if our work-provided lights wont fit/too dark. It needs to be small enough for me to keep it in a large pocket. After reading thru the forums here, and the reviews at flashlightreviews.com, I don't know what would be bright enough/too bright for my use.
I need to keep it around $50 or so.
Ive been considering these:

SL Tasklight (A little long, but might work)
SL Twin Task 2L (not sure if LED mose would be bright enough)
ARC LS with 2aa adapter (Used one)
SL Propolymer 4aa LED (Not sure if it will be bright enough/may be too big)

Any suggestions? Anything else I should consider? I hate not being able to try one out without seeing it myself, but no one around here has anything better that a maglight,

BlindedByTheLite

Flashlight Enthusiast
the SL Twin Task 2L sounds like your best bet outta that lineup..

you've got the xenon beam for inspections..

then you have the LED's for close-up work..

Hoghead

Flashaholic*
Hi hallex,
Welcome to CPF!
The best light on your list is the ARC LS. You can buy a ARC LS factory second for $50 when they are available. If you decide to get a ARC LS second don't hesitate if you find one. Or you can get a ARC LSL-S for $65 here
http://store.yahoo.com/flashlight/closandspeco.html
The other two lights that I would recommend are the SL 4AA 7LED, and the Princeton Tec Tec40. The Tec40 is smaller than the SL 4AA 7LED and a lot brighter. Both of these are great lights. I recommend that you get RipOffs holsters for them. Lights & holsters are here
http://www.brightguy.com/detail_int.html?cart=10697227964744498&sku=PRITEC40HBKCPO
Good luck & enjoy your search!

JohnK

Flashlight Enthusiast
He needs throw, AND close inspection. The Twin-Tasks (or the more expensive A2) fill the need.

Hence the name....................