Which LED flashlight should I buy?

artforest

Newly Enlightened
I am a contractor and carry a 2 AA mini Maglite for looking into or behind walls, above ceilings and in dark corners. I like everything about my Maglite except that it is frequently not bright enough. I have therefore started looking @ LED flashlights, but I've never used one & know nothing about them.

Please advise me based on the following parameters (in no particular order):
I need the light to be comparable in size to the miniMaglite, perhaps just a little bigger. I'd like it to have a bit of a bulge on at least one end so it will hang in a loop-type holster. I need it to be water-resistant and durable. I need a bright, tight beam of light. I'd prefer a standard battery size. Cost (up to a couple of hundred bucks) is not a major issue.

THANKS!

IlluminatingBikr

Flashlight Enthusiast
Sounds as if you like your mini-Mag. You could keep it and upgrade it with a LED sandwich from dat2zip here. These come with all the parts you need to easiliy assemble your new Mag. All you need is a stock mini-mag.

Basically what they are is a converter board (BB=Badboy or MM=Madmax) with a 1 watt luxeon star LED. The Badboy boards regulate the current. Ex: the BB400 sandwich will regulate the output to the lux at 400 milli-amps. The Madmax sandwiches regulate the voltage for the luxeon.

See a review. Also, check out the "Sandwich Shop" section here on CPF.

Welcome to CPF! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

BlindedByTheLite

Flashlight Enthusiast
well.. you wont necessarily need an LED light to get something brighter.. especially with your price range (tho you wont need a light that costs a couple hundred bucks!)

but i will ask you, how much brighter than a Minimag would you like it to be?

'cause we can reccomend lights that are indeed, brighter than the Minimag, or we can reccomend lights that are as bright as as many Minimags as you can carry, combined!