"broken" AA mini mag

Frijid

Enlightened
I've been carrying the same mini mag for the past 3 years with no problems. here recently i lent it to a "friend" to use for a week. well today the bulb blew in it, and i went to pull the bulb out and i got a surprise. it appears that when he turned it off, he over tightened it. the evidence of this is clear because when i went to screw it to turn it on, i noticed it was tight. the reflector, the "fins" on the back of it are bent in because it has been "crammed" against the "head" of the lamp base. well the surprise i got was that the ring around the lamp, the ring that holds the whole "unit" from falling out when you take the batteries out. If you look at a mini mag, you will see a writing around it that says "DO NOT REMOVE" well that part has been broke off. so when i took the batteries out, the whole "unit" fell out, i didn't understand what happened at first cause it fell out, then i unscrewed the head, and then the "ring" that broke off from the pressure and fell off. i can get the unit to go back in by pushing it back up a little bit, and push it the rest of the way with the batteries. i've noticed around the "base" you can see the contact post, which is to be expected, but will it damage anything to continue to use the light? it still turns on and works like normal, just like i said when you take out the batteries, the "base" falls out with the batteries. I'm mostly concerned about like i said the post is exposed. I'd hate to have it strapped on my belt and have it short out and explode or leak acid down my pants leg. I'd upload pictures of what i'm talking about so you can see better what i'm talking about, by my camera is old and doesn't do close up photos.

Frijid

Enlightened