Questions about Solarforce and Drop-In modules in general

walterwitt

Newly Enlightened
Hey CPF,
So I've been thinking it's about time I got a real flashlight. Currently my best flashlight is a cheap zooming one I got from DX for $7. It's fairly good considering the price, and I like how tight the zoom is on it. I know the 350 Lumen thing is a bit of a stretch but it's still much brighter than the old 25 lumen one I got from Radio Shack when I was a noob to flashlights.

Anyway, even though I know I could afford it, I'm still too cheap to spend more than $100 on a flashlight, and I'd prefer it be somewhere around $50. I would like really High powered emitter like upwards of 800 lumens (So an XM L(2)) and I want it to have really good throw. I also have a good interest in being able to change out parts of the flashlight like the driver, emitter, reflector, etc... So I looked around at different brands and lights and it seems that Solarforce has the closest to what I'm looking for.

All the parts they sell seem to be compatible with each other, they use standard Drop-ins which seems like a cool way of customising your flashlight, and they're pretty cheap.
Looking at what they have, I'm thinking of getting The L2T body with stainless clip and besel. It's one of the more expensive bodies, but I like the matt finish and the Stainless ends look really cool :eek:oo:. I also think I'll get the lantern attachment because it seems like it would be useful to have.

Now, about the drop-in. I have a few questions about them that I think you guys could answer.

1. Are the drop ins that the L2 series use pretty universal throughout different brands?
  2. If they are, how can I tell which ones will and will not work? (what numbers do I pay attention to?)
  3. Can I use cheep ones like the ones on Dealextreme or Fasttech?
  4. How good a throw can I get from a Drop-in?
  5. If throw on a drop in is limited, what other options are there?