LED Flashlight

mcrendog

Newly Enlightened
Ok, I admit I'm a total newbie. I saw my brother in-law with a LED flashlight that was very bright and decided I needed to get one. I was wondering if you could recommend a small, bright LED flashlight for use around the house or outside. I'm really not sure what to buy.

Double_A

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome, so how much money did ya want to spend?

We can recommend (and most of us have) lights that will make even a non-flashaholic wife or girlfriend go "whoa!"

But they are gonna cost around $100 -$175 dollars, ya still interested?

GregR

UnknownVT

Flashlight Enthusiast
[ QUOTE ]
mcrendog said:
I saw my brother in-law with a LED flashlight that was very bright and decided I needed to get one. I was wondering if you could recommend a small, bright LED flashlight for use around the house or outside.

[/ QUOTE ]

Do you know what your brother-in-law's flashlight was?

How suitable was that for what you want to use it for?

If it was close to "ideal" - then why not just get that one? - or name it and ask for alternatives.

Currently one of the "best buys" is the Dorcy 1AAA - 1x LED 1x AAA battery - at a mere $5.94 from Wal-Mart -
It is pretty small - an easy carry in the pocket - plenty bright enough for in house and closer tasks - just about OK for outdoors walking - but it is not bright enough to truly throw a beam any distance.

Sizes/colors -
fa838c25.jpg

l to r: ArcAAA, Dorcy 1AAA #2, Dorcy 1AAA #1, Ultra-G

There have been lots of posts about it here - use the search function - here are a couple of links to threads with beamshots -

Dorcy 1AAA vs. ArcAAA vs. Ultra-G

Dorcy 1AAA #2 (vs ArcAAA vs Ultra-G vs Dorcy #1)

Even if it's not "ideal", it is probably worth buying a Dorcy 1AAA as a relatively inexpensive introduction to LED flashlights -
to find out what you might like or dislike about LEDs.......

mcrendog

Newly Enlightened