LED color, brightness, and uniformity tester

tddh007

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone,

I just registered to ask a question regarding measuring LEDs. I want to know what kind of test equipment is recommended for testing LED color, brightness, and uniformity.

I am a complete novice when it comes to lighting, so if my question is too vague please fill free to ask here and I will answer what I can.

Thank you!

AnAppleSnail

Flashlight Enthusiast
White or color LEDs? UV or IR?
Lumens or watts output?
Color = tint?
Uniformity = consistency?
What about CRI?

Edit: A light meter is a good basic tool for white lights. There are some DIY spectrometers that can be used to explore the output frequency of lights.

tddh007

Newly Enlightened
White or color LEDs? UV or IR?
Lumens or watts output?
Color = tint?
Uniformity = consistency?
What about CRI?

Edit: A light meter is a good basic tool for white lights. There are some DIY spectrometers that can be used to explore the output frequency of lights.

HI AnAppleSnail,

Thanks for the reply. Let me answer your questions.
-White LEDs
-Lumens
-Color...unsure on this
-Uniformity- color and intensity consistency through a light pipe
-CRI?

As for the LED I am planning to test is a Kingbright CCT 8000k.

Thanks

Cataract

Flashlight Enthusiast
For color and CRI I do believe you would need a spectrometer type of meter, then relate the data to some tables. Color and CRI are very subjective. I might also be corrected by more knowledgeable CPFers in the following posts. The same equipment could be used to map the beam , but that needs a mechanical way to move the source or the light sensor with step motors. Are you looking into buying this equipment or just curious?

Last edited:

Harold_B

Enlightened
What type of light pipe? Are you edge lighting or more like a fiber optic. How much light are we talking about? How big of an area and at what distance from the exit aperture?