Original TK-75 VS. New TK-75

Capolini

Banned
Good evening everyone. This is my First "Thread" Bare with me!! Let the drama unfold!

First I would like to say that I am an amateur, I do NOT have equipment like Selfbuilt, Subwoofer and others.This test/review was done strictly with the naked eye, evaluating the brightness, intensity, throw and flood capabilities of each light. Remember, just an opinion and evaluation by me!

Ok, let's get started[ sound familiar!].

I will start by saying the reason I got the "New" TK-75 was strictly for its advertized improvement in PBI[Candelas].

Here are the numbers according to "Fenix". Again, keep in mind this is based on their testing and my Eye to try to validate their improvements.

Edit:Forgot to put in what "type" of Emitters/LED's the torches have!

Original TK-75 has XM-L[U2]
New TK-75 has XM-L2[U2]

According to "Cree's" website the XM-L2[U2] are suppose to have 20% more output than the XM-L[U2].

Original TK-75, 2600 Lumens-max. Modes:L-18, Med.-400, High-1100, Turbo-2600
New TK-75, 2900 Lumens-max. Modes : L-25, Med.-450, High-1200, Turbo-2900

There really is NOT much difference here in Output when modes are compared.Again, the numbers above are NOT the reason I got it. That is next!

Original TK-75-Beam distance[throw]- 662 yards[606 meters],PBI[Candelas]- 92,000.
New TK-75-Beam distance[throw]- 754 yards[ 690 meters],PBI[Candelas]-119,500.

This is a novice and an amateurs way of thinking! It seems logical , but I may be totally wrong!

The difference in Candelas seemed significant to me. That was the main reason I got it. A difference of plus 27,500 Candelas for the New TK-75.The only way I could equate that is like this. My first decent light was a Jetbeam BC-40 which has a Candela rating of 29,600[that's what it says on my box and the website]. So I am thinking that is like adding most of my Jetbeams PBI[Candelas] to my "Original" TK-75!!!

Here is my conclusion"