This is my first post on CPF.

Joe Random

Newly Enlightened
This is my first post on CPF.
I used to own a Ledlenser V². As a matter a fact I owned 2. I lost one a few years ago, and I bought another one after. I got the supertorch virus reading this forum and I own a few lasers as well. People here seem to talk bad about Ledlenser so I decided to investigate and read this forum for a while. 3 weeks ago I lost my Ledlenser V². Since I decided to go with the advice here and not buy another one, I actually ordered the Sunwayman D40A. After receiving it and having high expectations, I was really convinced the torch would blow my Ledlenser out of the water.
It didn't. I mean the built quality is better and it uses newer technologies. It has modes and strobes and other features my simple Ledlenser didn't have, but with with 980 lumens (940 as per your review in Turbo) I thought it would throw much much further. Again it didn't. I've been using my old flashlight daily for a few years and it never let me down. It didn't have button issues as reviewed here, I dropped it several times from heights higher than 10 feet and it had it's share of water, while it wasn't advertised as being waterproof.
I went along with this review and got eager to buy the Sunwayman. However I got very disappointed with the results. It's strange. When I point the Sunwayman torch on my skin about a foot away, I can clearly feel the heat caused by the immense beam of photons. It brightens dark areas like no other torch I even owned, but then again it has 940 lumens output. The stats of my small Ledlenser that runs on 3 AAA's didn't heat my skin, even at contact, yet it threw much further. Ok, it didn't have the flood/spill the sunwayman has, but it lasted at least 4 hours throwing farther. The beam as much more focused and it had little flood, yet comfortable to go and take a walk in the forest. and it only had 110 lm specified.