Is the current economy in 2013 hurting LED flashlight buying just a little or a lot?

Oztorchfreak

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi guys.

Is the current economy in 2013 hurting LED flashlight buying just a little or a lot?

Things just seem very slow lately on the LED forum especially.

There is usually a lot more chatter about buying newer LED lights especially at the EDC to mid price point.

Maybe it is just my imagination.

What do you think in different Countries? :thinking:

CHEERS

Last edited:

passive101

Enlightened
As a business owner I can say in my area the economy has been hurting for around a decade which it seems to continue to fall for people's extra income. However lights haven't really changed that much. Most people who have their lights don't have much of a reason to stay on this board. Many come here when linked from other sites when they are in need or looking for one. I doubt it gets that busy until the next big tech jump or a standard battery such as a 123A or something new can drive 1500-2000 lumens. Then it will be time to upgrade for those who have over 500 lumens now in a single or 2 cell light.

That's just my guess :)

nbp

Flashaholic
Custom lights market has been slooow for > months. You can get some super deals on Ti lights right now, people just aren't snapping them up like years ago.

ghodan

Newly Enlightened
I am creating 2 buy lists and day dreaming what to get the last 15 months..... and not buying one light :mecry:
In between jobs the last 15 months.....

Why so long? I think this is the cause:
Economy sucks.
Number of people without a job in the country i live has never been so high.
So more people with the same skill set try to get the same vacant job openings.
60 to 100+ people usually respond to the same job openings i try to apply to.
Trying to switch to something totally different has also no use because people with skill set that do have experience in that field are readily available.