Newbie: Bought my first two decent flashlights this weekend

withoutink

Newly Enlightened
Hi All,

I am pretty new to the world of flashlight technology. Up until now, I have owner pretty much basic lights. Currently, I own:

(4) 2D LED Maglight
(3) 2AA LED Maglight
(2) 1AAA LED Maglight Solitaire
(1) 4D LED Maglight
(1) Streamlight Stylus 3

And a few assorted other crappy lights.

This weekend I bit the bullet and bought (2) higher quality lights.

(1) 4Sevens Mini ML-X
(1) Fenix PD 35

Along with the PD35 I bought a Nitecore i4 Charger and (2) Panasonic NCR18650B Super Max 3.7V 3400mAh Rechargeable Batteries. The Fenix should be here today, and the Mini should arrive tomorrow or Wednesday. I am pretty excited to see what a higher quality light will do. I am also looking to get a 4Sevens Preon 2 for me and a Preon 1 for my wife.

Anyway, how did I do? How do you all like these new additions? Will the Preons work well for EDC? The wife will just toss her's in her purse. I will look to do some sort of modification to the Preon 2 switch,as I heard it turns on very easily. Any recommendations as to fixes for it?

Take care, and I appreciate your time and replies in advance!

-Matt

wjv

Enlightened
You bought those two crappy flashlights!!!!!!

:laughing:

But seriously. .

I have a 47s Mini-ML in my pocket right now and it is one of my favorite EDC lights. Ultra tiny package with great output and run times. It is a superb carry light.

Don't have the PD35, but I have the PD32 and the PD32UE. Fenix is a good product and I'm sure you will be impressed with the "wall of light" that the PD35 produces. My PD32UE is very similar (~100 less lumens) and it has a natural white beam instead of the cool white beam. We went to some local caves a few weeks ago an got this result:

PD32UE
Ape05_zps372185b8.jpg

I'd say the PD35 will give you just as good, or even better results!