3D mag, 3Watt TWAK, ***PICS ADDED***

harebawl

Newly Enlightened
Once again I am totally amazed.... I was really impressed with the HD R2L in my 3AA SL, but now..... I know I am a newbie with still lots to see, but, last night I finished my 3D mag mod direct driving a TWAK. All I can say is WOW!!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ooo.gif Not very often in life do you look forward to something and when you finally get it, it exceeds your expectations!

I comapered it with a stock 3D mag with fresh batts, and this thing totally stomps it!!! Throw and brightness!!! It almost looks like you have a light saber in your hands. Then I compared it to my SL Ultra Stinger, and of course it can't match it in throw and total light output, it doesn't do too bad against it...actually very respectable!!! The color is a very nice "HID" color and the US and Mag look sickly yellow against it!!

I just had to share this with anyone thinking of doing this mod....

ResQTech

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: 3D mag, 3Watt TWAK, DD....Unbelievable.....

Are you running it direct drive off 3 D cells? Did you use the hotlip heatsink?

harebawl

Newly Enlightened

Yes, I am running it DD off 3D's and yes I used a Hotlips heatsink!

I might have a digital camera at my disposal this weekend, I can try to get some pics....if I'm not too busy shoveling snow this weekend, thier calling for 8-15" of snow over the weekend....:(

I just had to let people know about this that are thinking of doing it... I have seen alot of beamshot pics, etc.... but you really don't know what it looks like until you see it for yourself! Maybe I am getting excited over nothing, but, it sure is impressive to me!

Wylie

Enlightened

No worries man soon you will build a mod that will just melt the snow as you walk.

DaMeatMan

Newly Enlightened