LSHF-P Good for EMS or Field Medical Use?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave Wright

Enlightened
Seems that the LSHF-P would be a great EMS or medical field use light. I haven't taken the time to compare the beam color with one of our surgical lights, but I bet it's closer than any other flashlight source. Quite neutral white with surprisingly good color rendering for a non-incandescent source. The beam brightness and color are extremely even from edge to edge of the hotspot. I'm not a doctor or EMS tech, but this is the light I would carry for those unpredictable field situations - where sometimes you don't have proper ambient light and you need flat/accurate/bright illumination for emergency diagnosis and treatment.

Any doctors in the house?

Bushman

Flashlight Enthusiast
I am not a doctor either but there are some that are here and there are some that are in med school. I am a nurse practitioner and I use my firefly every day to look at skin lesions and throats. Works very well and I love the color rendition that the luxeon gives.

B@rt

Flashaholic
A little OT, but along the same lines;
How would the Inova X-1 perform regarding color rendition, since it has a very even beam.? I seems to me it would be a very nice little light for a doctor. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/thinking.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/icon3.gif

Bushman

Flashlight Enthusiast
Bart, I think that the inova would work fine also... I use the firefly for eyes also... I just tell them to look strait ahead and I approach them from the side with the light. People don't even like to look directly in the light of a cheap penlight. I have never had anyone complain...

Blikbok

Enlightened
I've talked to a few EMS people regarding flashlights and the ones I spoke to were not keen on buying something with their own money that might get...contaminated. Others may feel differently.