New here- couple Q's about Luxeon Stars

Justintoxicated

Flashlight Enthusiast
New here- couple Q\'s about Luxeon Stars

Hi im new to these forums and Im still learning about some amazing LED's

I have made this taillight for my ATV using 2 Cyan Luxeon Star-O's

taillight1.jpg

Well my friend liked them so he bought them off me, and my new goal is to make a brighter one.

I was interested in purchasing the Red Lambertian Star-O's rated at 44 lumens, but I have been recently told that the batwings will be brighter because the optics are designed around them. So I'm not sure which ones to order. How bright will the 25 lumen Red Batwings compare to the 30 lumen Cyans I am using in the picture?

Thanks for your help, and I can't wait to learn more about this stuff.

Justintoxicated

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: New here- couple Q\'s about Luxeon Stars

Opps did i post this in the wrong forum?

Can someone move this to the LED forum instead?

Mark_Larson

Enlightened

n00b. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

Welcome to CPF, Justintoxicated.

WildRice

Flashlight Enthusiast

Well, I would consider an ATV tail-light with 2 stars a definate MOD.
Jeff

Justintoxicated

Flashlight Enthusiast

yea, thats why I asked it to be moved...

Thanks for the welcome /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Can someone fill me in on why the High Dome Star-O's won't put out as much light as the low dome Star-O's

I know the high dome red is rated 44 lumens vs the low domes at 25, but someone told me the Star-O optics are designed for the low dome, thus the 25 lumen ones will be brighter?

You all know im using this simply for a taillight, so are the 25 lumen low dome LED's my best bet? Im supposed to order them tomarrow so if anyone can explain please help a newb out!

Also to do underlighting on my ATV in blue, the 3 watt starts without optics will be my best bet correct?