No on LED for emergencies?

erock05

Newly Enlightened
I just realized that there a few ppl out there who would rather stick to xenon or incan vs LED during an emergency DISASTER situation? I dont remember exactly which scenario it was they were reffering too and Im no expert on any of these things so can anyone tell me what the advantes of having an incan?

Thanks

ChrisGarrett

Flashlight Enthusiast
I just realized that there a few ppl out there who would rather stick to xenon or incan vs LED during an emergency DISASTER situation? I dont remember exactly which scenario it was they were reffering too and Im no expert on any of these things so can anyone tell me what the advantes of having an incan?

Thanks

There aren't any, that I can tell. They're a throwback that people like to fiddle with, which is fine by me. In an emergency, tint isn't going to matter and whether, or not, green leaves look like they would in daylight. I think that a bona fide benefit is increased runtimes and multimode options found on modern lights, not that bulbs can't have hi/lo/med, but they seem to be not all that common.

I guess if there's an EMP attack on the US, incan. guys will probably be laughing, but even though I replaced my 6D ML bulbs with TerraLux Ministar 5s, I've kept the bulbs for that very reason, lol.

Chris

PhotonWrangler

Flashaholic
Yeah, It's the EMP attack worriers who will stick with their incands.

Agreed. However the likelihood of dropping one's flashlight is far higher than the likelihood of an EMP attack. If you're really worried about EMP, keep an incandescent on hand as well as an LED (or an LED drop-in for the incandescent).

Jimson

Newly Enlightened
I agree

There aren't any, that I can tell.