Newbie with some MagLight questions

MarTay6

Newly Enlightened
Hi, all-
I'm new to this whole flashlight thing- to me, a flashlight has been- at best, a MagLight- at worst, plastic flashlights at work with dead batteries!
Discovered the world of 'better' flashlights, and find it interesting!
I've ordered 3 different lights (LED type), but tonight, it dawned on me- that I have 2 MagLights that might benefit from some improvements- even if only better batteries, preferably rechargeables.
I have a 3 D-cell and a 2 C-cell MagLights… what would be a good upgrade on batteries over the typical Duracell's I throw in them? Are rechargeables suitable- due to the lower output voltage from an alkaline cell?? Are there other simple mods that I could do to start with?
I'm totally unfamiliar with the process and concepts of modding flashlights… I've been reading through material on here- some of the basics- trying to figure out the terminology,etc, so I at least have an idea of what's IN these things! I'm an electronics technician by trade, in and working for the Navy for 47+ years- and a certified micro tech, so the soldering issues are non-issues for me. I just don't understand the theory and block level operation of the driver/regulator circuitry- I assume there's a bit of electronics in the MagLights as well?? (Mebbe' not!)
Anyway, better batteries would be a starting place for the MagLights.
Thanks for any advice!
Wes

PCC

Flashlight Enthusiast
First of all, :welcome: