Those with X3T. How are they holding up under 9V?

Orion

Flashlight Enthusiast
There were several mods done, using the X3T LED, being run with 9 volts. Please place your comments here as to how the lower fV of this LED is handling the greater than spec 9 volts being delivered to it. Does the body of the flashlight heat up considerably? How long does it last? Anything you'd care to divulge for this thread. Thank you! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

PeterW

Enlightened
My McLux-PR with DB750 seems to be running just fine. The head gets noticably warm if you run it for a few minutes. Keep yourself warm when it gets all chilly outside.

I haven't given it too much abuse though as it is so nice and shiny.

PEterW

G Pilot

Enlightened
I am still learning......does a lower letter mean lower VF? And if so....does it mean it will be bright with less power going through it? And a higher letter means you need more power to make it bright? I have an X3V being power by 9 volts and it never gets warm.

PeterB

Enlightened
Are you planning to direct drive it with 9V?
What kind of batteries (123?)?
I've a 5W, which should be better suited for 9V direct drive (VW0V). Would you like to trade the X3T for my VW0V /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

IsaacHayes

Flashlight Enthusiast
if your're worried and aren't using a buck circuit or MR, then use .5 ohm resisor with it it.

LEDmodMan

Flashaholic*
Most of the X3T 5w LS's I know of are being run through some kind of electronics (either MR or DB). That means that the LED only sees the voltage that it is binned to see (mine is 6.7v), only more current is delivered.

It is possible that Mr. Bulk has run an X3T bin DD, but I'm not sure...

G Pilot

Enlightened
Orion......I got a Megaclops from Lambda. I am guessing it is DD. I never asked him though.

Orion

Flashlight Enthusiast
Thank you, G Pilot! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

So, LEDmodMan, are these being run at around the 6.7 volts to preserve the LED?