12mm x .5 tap and die for mod to CQG S2

MasonSteele

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to the flashlight community, but am a moderatley experienced builder and like to think I'm pretty handy. I'm trying to make an extension tube for the
[h=1]CQG S3 AAAAA CREE XPG2 R5 4A NW[/h]from CN quality goods. I believe [...hope...] the threading on it is 12mm x .5 but I'm having the damnedest time finding a tap and die set for it. I don't want to cut them on a lathe at all. I have found what I need on ebay, however I don't trust the HSS tools from China to be able to handle cutting stainless steel. After searching on the forums I have found a lead on the proper tap from MCS (http://www.mscdirect.com/product/04995924?rItem=04995924) however no luck with a die. Do any of you modders know of a source for quality nonstandard thread cutting tools?

HarryN

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have had really good luck finding metric products at a firm called Maryland metric. I think it is mdmetric dot com. Their web site is a bit overwhelming, but my experience is that if you call them, they can find most anything - really fast, even some really obscure screw metric screw sizes.

I didn't look, but McMaster also carries a lot of metric tooling.

If you cannot find it at those places, then the next stop might be to have a custom tool built for you. I know in areas like Toledo, OH, it is really common to have tooling made for a project, but I assume other areas as well.

What might also be helpful, is that CPF has a section dedicated to the more "machining" side of flashlight building. It is here:

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb...ted-Materials-Mechanical-Machining-Discussion

Last edited:

MasonSteele

Newly Enlightened
Thanks Harry!