Greetings and thanks!

mmander

Newly Enlightened
Hello all,

I have been lurking here for several months now and finally decided to register. Firstly, I want to thank all the members, and especially the reviewers, for all the time and effort they put into their reviews, and all the time spent by everyone on helpful advice and intelligent discussion of flashlights! I have learned a lot from the gold mine that is CPF. Thank you all!

I am a photographer and, in the last few months, I fear I am becoming a certified flashaholic too. I have been doing some light painting with my flashlights and in addition, I just finished a huge gallery of high dynamic range ceiling beamshots for all the lights I own. So far, all of of the white-wall beamshot examples I've seen have been a series of photos at different exposures. While that is certainly useful for examining the beam characteristics in detail (how does the brightest part of the core look, how does the spill look etc.), it doesn't really give the sense of what the overall beam actually looks like in person, at least it doesn't for me. More experienced people could probably extrapolate from the bracketed exposures to visualize the entire beam, but I cannot. So, shooting raw files with a camera that has quite a high inherent dynamic range, I have created the image gallery, each photo from a single carefully chosen exposure, then post-processed to show the brightest part of the core, all the way to the edge of the spill. I have also tried to maintain accurate colour in order to show off the differences in beam tint and the tint differential within each beam.

Anyway, once I am vetted after my first few posts, I will write a longer intro and provide some links to some light-painting image galleries and to that beamshot blog posting too. Somehow my first long post I had prepared has disappeared into the ether: I hit preview and poof, it was gone.