Fenix LD22 Tail Cap

Pochama

Newly Enlightened
I've been using my Fenix LD22 for about 6 months now but recently I've been having the same tail cap issues that many LD20 users have had. The light would flicker intermittently and now it just won't turn on with the tail cap. The flashlight turns on when I complete the circuit with a screwdriver so I know it's a tail cap issue. I was going to attempt to try to fix the tail cap myself but it looks completely different than all of the guides that I see on the internet. The tail caps in all of the videos and pictures I see have a solid metal washer with two holes diametrically opposed, but my tailcap has this thin partial ring with two circles around the 5 oclock and 7 oclock positions. Here is a photo of my tail cap.

http://imgur.com/WGLf6cV

I can't for the life of me get this thing off. I tried putting in the pliers and rotating it like the original cap but it just spins around instead of coming off. It seems like it's kind of notched into the outer casing and I try to pull the ring inwards to pop it off but it just won't budge. Does anyone know how I can try to fix this thing?

reppans

Flashlight Enthusiast
.... It seems like it's kind of notched into the outer casing and I try to pull the ring inwards to pop it off but it just won't budge. Does anyone know how I can try to fix this thing?

Yeah, it looks like it's just spring loaded where you have reduce the diameter of the retaining clip and lift up. So, if you stick needle nose plier into the two holes, and squeeze (so the holes are touching) you can't get it out? or can't squeeze them together enough?

Worse come to worse, you can by-pass an anodized tailcap with a piece of tinfoil turning it into a twisty. Another option you may want to search for is using a Quark tailcap ($9)... thought I read the threads were the same between Fenix LDs and Quarks.

Whats the green ring in there? did an Alkaline leak?

Hondo

Flashlight Enthusiast