Broke the "3rd" Bond Wire on XP-G2 "de-dome", Still Illuminates the Same, Though.

matt304

Newly Enlightened
Broke the "3rd" Bond Wire on XP-G2 "de-dome", Still Illuminates the Same, Though.

I'm a little confused here. I have the weirdest luck with de-doming. Some XP-G/G2s, the lens peels off just fine with an exacto razor knife. Others, I get broken bond wires. I'm still learning I guess you could say. The XP-Es, those are hard for me to get one correct yet. I always take the razor, and peel up and back, from the exact opposite side of the two main bond wires. So I'm pivoting the lens more on the wires than putting the razor near them.

Anyways, here's one that gave me a question to ponder. What is the duty of the "3rd" bond wire, the one that does not travel to the chip-die, but across the bridge on the side of the Cree XP-G2 die? That is the bond wire that broke on a de-dome, and when I powered the light back up, it appears to have the same output power, still.

What is this extra bond wire, and what is its duty? Will I harm the LED by operating it without this extra wire?

Lastly, how do you de-dome? Someone said gasoline. I don't like that idea, it sounds dangerous to saturate a porous chip structure with an oily solvent. But the razor blade method seems to work about 50% of the time, telling me, "hey, you need a better idea".

There's obviously the lens, the silicone filler, and then a solid glue ring base of the lens on-chip. If the glue is touching a bond wire, that seems where it basically fails. So technically, I do need to soften that glue, I just don't know if there is someone's hidden quick trick to de-doming around here.

Thanks for the help.

alpg88

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: Broke the "3rd" Bond Wire on XP-G2 "de-dome", Still Illuminates the Same, Though.

Someone said gasoline. I don't like that idea, it sounds dangerous to saturate a porous chip structure with an oily solvent.
Thanks for the help.