Am I ordering LEDs from the wrong source?

frascati

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to this stuff. I'm about to place my third order to DigiKey in the past month for Cree leds.
Digikey's search function sucks, so I have better luck actually finding a place in their catalog via google search. But in the course of searching google for a particular XM-l2 led I find this url....

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Aluminum-Al...ED-Flashlight-Torch-Lamp-3000LM-/130891791687

Now my order for three XM-l2 leds from Digikey is 25.50 before shipping. Even the lowest cost ship, USPS priority mail, brings it in at above the price for the flashlight linked above.

My apologies if this topic has been well discussed at this forum already... but unless the leds used in that flashlight are, with reasonable certainty, counterfeit, then I have to wonder how Digikey gets away with such an astonishingly steep markup for these LEDs. A Chinese supplier can assemble an entire flashlight around three XM-L2 Cree, with machined, threaded, anodized aluminum tubing, seals, 3X reflector, switch, and circuit board, and send it to me shipping included for LESS than the price of those three LEDs from Digikey to my door?

What am I missing here?

Last edited by a moderator:

frascati

Newly Enlightened
Ok. From another forum. I'm told that verification and end-support raises the cost of these things substantially. It is presumed that counterfeit is a very real problem with "unknown" vendors. This really could not include a branded item such as Surefire could it?

I'm really hoping someone can give me some insight here. Coincidentally my interest in ordering three XM-L from Digikey is to mount them 3X in a project. Granted, I can't chose my CCT and in most cases will have to opt for cool white. That seems to be the only drawback.

Last edited by a moderator:

DellSuperman

Flashlight Enthusiast
FastTech, Illumination Supplies, Kaidomain, international outdoor all sells bare LED emitters.