Newly Enlightened
Surefire newbie here

If you could only choose or have one, which one would you get:
Surefire L6 or M3?

which one is brighter?

Thank you!

tkl

Flashlight Enthusiast
I would lean towards the M3, probably. I haven't handled both so that plays a big part in my decision. From what I've seen the L6 is no different than the L4/5, only a different angled/sized reflector. That sucks IMO.

I wouldn't even bother with the M3 unless I was prepared to run the HOLA and use up alot of lithium cells. The standard output lamp sucks.

Actually, I would just get the Streamlight TL-3 for less than half as much, better output.

Sean

Flashlight Enthusiast
[ QUOTE ]
Manila said:
Surefire newbie here

If you could only choose or have one, which one would you get:
Surefire L6 or M3?

which one is brighter?

Thank you!

[/ QUOTE ]

Depends on what you are going to use it for.

L6 is for lower light & longer run-time (65 lumens for close to 2 hours)

M3 is brighter and runs shorter MN10 125 lumens for 60 minutes, MN11 225 lumens for 20 minutes.

You can get an L6 and buy the M3 head and lamps seperately, or the KT-4 (would make the L6 into the M3T and includes the lamps)

Manila

Newly Enlightened
thank you all for your input

I'm currently waiting on the 10X and was looking for a smaller backup flashlight.

very particular in having the brightest possible light no matter how small the flashlight will be

Lithead

Newly Enlightened
I have been using the M3/M3Ts for the last three years. I have an L6 coming but I would not go the L6 route if that is going to be your only light.

What is the intended purpose for the light?

An M3 is a pretty big light to carry around for a "backup." /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grinser2.gif

Lithead

Newly Enlightened
Oops, forgot to answer the other Q.

The M3 is brighter. 125 lumens or 225 lumen with the high output lamp (20 minute run time tho).

The L6 is only good for about 65 lumens I believe.

pjandyho

Flashlight Enthusiast