4C maglite - MT-G2 build questions

diriel

Newly Enlightened
I have a couple of incan 4C Maglite's that I would like to build into reasonably good lights for every day use. My wife is a security guard who often works at night, so she needs a good light.

-- B3Flex driver
-- MT-G2 on a Noctigon
-- heat sinking of some kind...?
-- http://www.ledil.com/node/2/p/5694
-- KingKong unprotected 26650 cells...?
-- Borofloat lens
-- Switch mod or different switch...?

A rock solid charger that can do 3x26650 cells at a time, and is safe if I should forget and leave the cells charging overnight...?

I would like to land approximately in the realm of 1000 OTF lumen's, extended run time. I figure anything over about 700 Lumen's would probably be ok. Looking for advice, and thoughts on how to proceed. I am new to building lights, but reasonably good with my hands. I do have a multimeter, and know how to use it. The above parts list is just my initial research, I am very much open to ideas here.

Thanks much!
Gary

Last edited:

fivemega

Flashlight Enthusiast
In order to fit 26mm cells, inside M*g "C" barrel must be bored out.
Also you mentioned 4x26650 but maximum of 3 cells may (or may not) fit inside 4C M*g

alpg88

Flashlight Enthusiast
lol, i build almost same light
4c, mtg2 deep led reflector, b3flex driver, but i use 18650 cells. i mounted led on sinkpad2 star, and than on a aluminium puck, 1\2 inch thick. used setscrew to fix it in place, the driver is glued to other side of heatsink, so drivers thremal sensor can see how hot the light gets, and trim output. switch i had to mod to momentary action, and i also had to flip it around to allow more room for deep reflector.
beam was not uniformed so i used antireflective film on the lens to make in uniform, pbly lost some throw, but at 2000+lm it still throw far. you do not need borofloat glass, it does not get hot at all, regular plactic will do just fine.

Last edited:

diriel

Newly Enlightened