Maglite 3D P7 Mod - still the way to go?

marksmatter

Newly Enlightened
Hi Folks,

Complete noob here, so please take it easy on me! I arrived at CPF looking for a way to upgrade and old 3D Maglite. Then, I got sucked in by all the excellent mods I found. Suffice to say, I've done a lot of reading these past couple of evenings.

I'm planning a fairly simple build, identical for the most part to this classic: http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?238641-How-To-Mod-a-Maglite-P7-38-PICS

I have a couple of questions. Many of the more referenced threads are pretty old (i.e. 2008/2009 vintage). Is P7 still the way to go, or has there been a giant leap forward in the LED workld? If P7 is still the best, where on this green earth does one buy one? I was looking for a I bin version as I plan on doing 3 NIMH DD - no need for a driver. Every link I've found has been dead or the product no longer available. The Malkoff drop in is starting to look more and more attractive as trying to find elusive components is pretty frustrating.

Last, but not least, batteries. That seems like an overwhelming world all of its own. Would I be OK powering this mod with plain old Eneloops, or would I be better off with some fancier type of battery arrangement?

Thanks in advance.

yazovyet

Enlightened
nope.
For the LED I'd use an XM-L2 and I'd also go with a driver such as the 7135 amc based 2800mA (from anywhere with flashlight drivers; really, anywhere) or up gunned 3040mA (from illumination supply [or other?] if they end the back order status?).